The Secret History of the Pink Carnation

I LOVED this book.  There are two more in the series and I have heard Ms. Willig is completing a fourth.

 

This is a fictional telling of British spies in France during the Napoleonic War.

We follow the escapades of the Scarlet Pimpernel and the Purple Gentian through the eyes of an American graduate student in London as she works on her dissertation.

Eloise meets a family decended from the Purple Gentian and has the opportunity to read the personal diaries of the spy and his wife.

 

This story drew me in and held me captive until I had completed the last page.  I then felt driven to find the next in the series and devour it as well.

I heartily recomend this to anyone interested in history, though this is fully a work of fiction.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

